Before me stands a cross, beside me stands the Saviour. 2.0

May 22, 2013 — 6 Comments

Did I tell you?

I came from a broken place.
Desolate and bleak
A place where manipulation reinforced false-truths and accusation.
There was no room for criticism.

There was only silence.
Bewilderment. Loss.
A place where disagreement was viewed as disloyalty.

Here, there was no room for joy or achievement
There was only the residue of condemnation and guilt.
Ignored, insecure and isolated
Conditioned to think I was worthless.
There was no room for strength
There was no room for identity
There could only be submission.

Did I tell you?

I came from a broken place.
Crushed. I self-medicated, de-humanized myself, abused the carers and exhausted my lack of potential. Unware? No, I just didn’t care.
There was no room for encouragement or excitement.
Only empty promises, let-downs and self-justification.
My defence? Vile words. Rebellion.
There was no room for peace and adventure
There was only conflict and fear.

But.

I was found.

Given the choice of faith. Two hands reached down, offered to take these pieces of my broken heart, and put them back together. Never to let go as if my life is like a  cherished heirloom.

As I was moved towards sanctuary. I found room for deliverance, healing and forgiveness.
Here there was room for wholeness; a movement away from rage and blame.

I am grateful.

Before me stands the cross, beside me stands the Saviour.

6 responses to Before me stands a cross, beside me stands the Saviour. 2.0

  1. 

    this gives me strength, thank you! Praise the Lord for your salvation.

    Like

  2. 

    This is SO beautiful! What a great God we serve. So well written too; love what God has done for you! Especially today, I’m moved by your gratitude!

    Like

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Notes and quotes, Part 2: Barth’s Dogmatics | Gratia Veritas Lumen - September 29, 2013

    […] willingness to dynamically-be-for-me-awaiting-my-reply. Regular readers will know I come from a broken place. In no way can claim a privileged beginning or to have inherited a religious silver spoon. Still […]

    Like

Comments:

