The Cost of Being a Christian

August 19, 2013 — Leave a comment

Matt, a teacher and friend of mine blogged this over at Wondering Fair…highly recommended.

Wondering Fair

Recently, a young Christian friend, Mike, came to me to discuss an issue he was having with his faith.

“Matt,” he said, “I’ve been reading the Bible, and I noticed in 1 Corinthians 6 it says, ‘Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor homosexuals nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.’ And here’s my problem: I’ve realised that, well, I’m greedy. By world standards I’m really rich, and I like it.”

“Hmm, that’s a real struggle, Mike.” I replied.

“But, Matt,” Mike continued, “You have to realise, I’m really good at making money! I was born with this innate ability and desire to be rich. Surely, if God made me this way, it can’t be wrong!”

worship nature

“The thing is, Mike, while God did make us with certain character traits, the Bible also talks about…

View original post 604 more words

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Comments:

