aRt and tHeOlOgY: Christmas Musica Compendium

November 8, 2013 — 4 Comments

The fast approaching festive season has prompted me to initiate a list.This list includes twelve of what I consider to be the best Christmas music, reproduced, created or improvised.

I have limited myself to twelve, but only for the sake of brevity. The actual playlist ”Christmas-ish” contains a lot more.

Not just being a student of theology and popular culture, but a consumer also. I present to you my 2013 Advent/festive guide to Christmas Musica:

1. Casting Crowns: I heard the bells on Christmas Day –  (Peace on Earth, 2008)

2.  MercyMe: God rest ye merry gentlemen – (The Christmas Sessions, 2005)

3.  Kenny Rogers & Wynonna Judd: Mary Did You Know? –  (The Gift, 1996)

4. Sting: Soul Cake – (If on a winter’s Night, 2009)

5. David Crowder*Band: Angels we have heard on high –  (Oh for Joy, 2011)

6. Johnny Cash: Joy to the World/Away in a Manger –  (Classic Christmas, 1980)

7. Kari Jobe: O Holy Night – (Where I Find You: Christmas Edition, 2012; in my opinion this one stands alongside Bing Crosby’s version – Yeah, I think it’s that good.)

8. Celtic Woman: Carol of the Bells – (Silent Night, 2012)

9. Bill Miller: The First Noel – (Sacred Gift, 2005)

10. Sara Groves featuring Toby Groves: Its True –  (O Holy Night, 2008 – ‘Toy Packaging’ tied with this one)

11. Jars of Clay: Gabriel’s Message – Christmas Songs, 2007 (Bonus Track Version)

12. Bobby Helms: Jingle Bell Rock (1957 version)

In addition, what is probably the best ROCK version of Carol of the Bells in the history of eclectic guitars (see what I did there? eclectic instead of electric… DC*B: )

4 responses to aRt and tHeOlOgY: Christmas Musica Compendium

  1. 

    The Celtic Women are great. Your blog caught my eye bc I studied Latin as a Classics minor in college. =)

    Like

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. On Lights, Veggies & a Few Musical Nutcrackers « Gratia Veritas Lumen - November 20, 2013

    […] If you happened to read my post about the ”Quintessential 12” – a compendium of what I consider the best Christmas tunes, covered, improvised and created; you’re probably aware of my penchant for Crowder’s cover of ‘Carol of the Bells’ and the Casting Crowns version of Longfellow’s ’I heard the bells on Christmas Day’. If not, and you’d like to read it, the link for that is here – (aRt and tHeOlOgY: Christmas Musica Compendium). […]

    Like

Comments:

