Christ in Contemporary Culture:‘Come Alive’

May 5, 2014 — 3 Comments

cross through a wet window

“Come Alive”

Seems like only yesterday
Life belonged to runaways
Nothing here to see,
No looking back

Every sound monotone
Every color monocrome
Life begin to fade into the black
Such a simple animal
Steralized with alcohol I could hardly feel me anymore

Desperate, meaningless
All filled up with emptiness
Felt like everything was said and done I lay there in the dark,
I close my eyes

You saved me the day you came alive

Still I try to find my way
Spending hours, endin’ days
Burning like a flame behind my eyes
Drown in out, drink it in
Crown the king of suffering

Prisoner, slave ’til in the skies
Disappeared the only thing
Bittersweet surrendering
Knew that it was time to say goodbye

I lay there in the dark and I close my eyes
You saved me the day that you came alive

The reason you left me to survive
You saved me the day you came alive
I lay there in the dark and I close my eyes

You saved me the day that you came alive

Nothing more to give I can finally live
Come alive
Your life into me I can finally breathe
Come alive
I lay there in the dark
Open my eyes

You saved me the day that you came alive

{Foo Fighters, via azlyrics.com}

I tend not to post all the lyrics of a song. So if posting those above has broken any “bloggers taboo”, please put that down my status as a genuine “noob” in the theo-blogging arena, and the fact I rarely do it.

Even though the song is a few years old, ‘Come Alive’ is an example of Christ in contemporary culture.

‘Come Alive’ has a number of possible references. My intention here is not to avoid that ambiguity nor is it an attempt to speculate on the faith of its authors e.g.: Dave Grohl (ex-Nirvana) & friends.

Viewed through the eyes of a child, teenager, husband or wife the words could easily reflect the sentiment of gratitude for an abusive/self-abusive person who has changed and is in the process of recovery. The repetitive  “come alive” is the formers pleading, mixed with a cautious relief that “life after death”, “good from bad” – rescue from the abyss, might now be possible.

For a theologian; a student of Reformed theology, specifically Karl Barth, a reference to the resurrection of Jesus Christ is found in the words “you saved me the day you came alive”. His death and resurrection being viewed as the point of our conversion – our being saved;the reconciliation with God made possible by the free decision of God to dwell among us, in the process showing us our freedom to reject or accept that state of reconciliation.

From a ministry perspective the message is strong.

It speaks of promise for the broken, the recovering and those still stuck in a cycle of abuse. There is a ton of weight to the lyrics and melody it rides upon.

There are clear lines of empowering empathy and remembrance.I would not consider it to be over spiritualising should I carefully posit that from both a theological and ministry perspective, the voice of proclamation (empowered by the Holy Spirit) is to be heard moving out from the pain, and silent groans resting behind what the author is reflecting on.

Here there is a clear acknowledgement of grace, and the gratitude given in recognition of an awakening – {literally a personal apocalypse – unveiling}, now very real, and very present to the author.

These kinds of songs, created outside the ”Christian Music Machine”, make statements like this:

“art and artists are vital for teaching us how to live. And, therefore, art is part of the gospel, whether or not the artist is fully aware.”

– Kevin Davis (‘The Grace of Holly Williams‘)

all the more intriguing.

 

Related reading: 

Your Work is Art: It Needs a Soundtrack‘ , Jenny Lang.
‘Seven Keys To Creativity’, Ann Voskamp

3 responses to Christ in Contemporary Culture:‘Come Alive’

  1. 

    I like it. And I haven’t liked the Foo Fighters since their early days in the mid-to-late 90’s, when I was obsessed with their first two albums.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 

      Good to hear. I’m discovering them for the first time really, and finding a lot to appreciate in the process.Being a more ‘heavy, fusion, 80’s/early 90’s rock’ fan I’ve never really spent a lot of time listening to their music.

      Like

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Top Twenty Posts, 2014 « Gratia Veritas Lumen - December 30, 2014

    […] Christ In Contemporary Culture: ‘Come Alive’ […]

    Like

Comments:

